Below you will find the appropriate prerequisites, test center locations, exam fees, resources, and contact information to help you better understand all New Mexico CPA requirements. Please note that obtaining a CPA license in New Mexico may require additional qualifications including continuing education or work experience.

The data on this page was last reviewed and updated in June 2020.

CPA Exam Requirements in New Mexico

Education


Baccalaureate degree or higher is required.
120 semester hours are required
30 semester hours must be in accounting courses; no more than 3 of the 30 hours may be in business law.
Specifics for required courses and semester hours. See full education requirements on the New Mexico Board of Accountancy website.

View Other New Mexico Education Requirements.

Residency


US citizenship is not required.
New Mexico residency is not required.

Age


Minimum age: 18 Years Old

Exam Fees:


Initial Application Fee:$160.00
Audit:$208.40
Financial:$208.40
Regulation:$208.40
Business:$208.40
Total:$993.60

*Registration fee for re-examination depends on the number of parts you are retaking. Fees are always subject to change.

Contact Information:


New Mexico State Board of Accountancy

Email: accountancy.board@state.nm.us

Phone: 505-222-9850

Address:
5500 San Antonio Dr. NE, Suite A
Albuquerque, NM 87109


CPA License Requirements in NM

Education


Continuing education is required.

150 semester hours.

 

Work Experience


Work experience is required.

Other Qualification


Pass the AICPA Ethics Exam.

Background check required.

Getting your CPA license in New Mexico can mean that additional requirements must be met. Since fees, requirements, and rules may change on a frequent basis, we highly recommend contacting the New Mexico State Board of Accountancy for complete licensing information.