West Virginia CPA Requirements
Are you looking to take the CPA Exam as an exam candidate for West Virginia? Each state or region in the United States has a different set of requirements in order to sit for the test. If you are considering West Virginia, you should first understand if you meet all of the necessary qualifications including education, residency, and age requirements. Below you will find the appropriate prerequisites, test center locations, exam fees, resources, and contact information to help you better understand all West Virginia CPA requirements.
Please note that obtaining a CPA license in WV may require additional qualifications including continuing education or work experience.
The data on this page was last reviewed and updated in January 2019.
CPA Exam Requirements in West Virginia
- Baccalaureate degree is required.
- 120 semester hours is required to sit for the CPA exam
- Need 150 hours for licensure, but do not need 150 to sit for exam
- Additional semester hour requirements. See full education requirements on the West Virginia Board of Accountancy website.
West Virginia State Requirements & Education Options
Eligibility for Examination
An applicant for the Uniform CPA Examination in West Virginia may qualify to site with a baccalaureate degree and the completion of specific required courses at the upper-division baccalaureate and/or graduate levels at an accredited college or university. The required courses include 30 semester hours of accounting* (excluding Principles of Accounting), 3 semester hours in ethics, 3 semester hours in business law*, and 27 semester hours in business and related courses.*
An applicant who holds a Masters or Doctorate in Accounting (Ph.D.) will automatically qualify to site for the Examination, if he/she has met all other requirements.
US citizenship is not required.
West Virginia residency is required.
18 Years Old
Visit prometric.com to find a CPA test center in West Virginia near you.
Free U.S. CPA Exam Qualification Services for International Candidates
Earn University Accounting Credits
Try the Wiley CPAexcel Course with FREE access to over 7,500 CPA Exam questions and much more.
Instant Access, No Credit Card Required
|Initial Application Fee:||$50.00|
*Registration fee for re-examination depends on the number of parts you are retaking.
CPA License Requirements in West Virginia
Continuing education is required.
Work experience is required.
Social Security Number is required.
Pass the AICPA Ethics Exam.
Getting your CPA license in West Virginia can mean that additional requirements must be met. Since fees, requirements, and rules may change on a frequent basis, we highly recommend contacting the West Virginia State Board of Accountancy for complete licensing information.