Vermont CPA Requirements

Are you looking to take the CPA Exam as an exam candidate for Vermont? Each state or region in the United States has a different set of requirements in order to sit for the test. If you are considering Vermont, you should first understand if you meet all of the necessary qualifications including education, residency, and age requirements. Below you will find the appropriate prerequisites, test center locations, exam fees, resources, and contact information to help you better understand all Vermont CPA requirements. For example, did you know that you do not need 150 semester hours to sit for the exam – but you do need 150 semester hours in order to receive your CPA license?

Please note that obtaining a CPA license in VT may require additional qualifications including continuing education or work experience.

The data on this page was last reviewed and updated in January 2019.


CPA Exam Requirements in Vermont

Education

  • 120 semester hours and a BA degree is required to sit for the CPA exam.
  • Additional semester hour requirements. See full education requirements on the Vermont Board of Accountancy website.

View Other Vermont Education Requirements.

Vermont State Requirements & Education Options

As a first-time or re-examination applicant, you must:

  • be of good moral character, and
  • have earned a minimum of 120 semester hours of general college-level education with 30 semester hours in accounting and business including:
  • 6 semester (9 quarter) hours of financial and/or managerial accounting (excluding Introductory Accounting)
  • 3 semester (4.5 quarter) hours of auditing
  • 3 semester (4.5 quarter) hours of U.S. taxation
  • 3 semester (4.5 quarter) hours of U.S. business law,

Residency

US citizenship is not required.
Vermont residency is not required.

Age

NO Age Requirements.

Find CPA Test Centers

Visit prometric.com to find a CPA test center in Vermont near you.


More Information
Free U.S. CPA Exam Qualification Services for International Candidates
Earn University Accounting Credits


accounting career guide


Try the Wiley CPAexcel Course with FREE access to over 7,500 CPA Exam questions and much more.

Start My Free Trial

Instant Access, No Credit Card Required

Exam Fees:
Initial Application Fee: $150.00
Audit: $208.40
Financial: $208.40
Regulation: $208.40
Business: $208.40
Total: $983.60

*Registration fee for re-examination depends on the number of parts you are retaking.

Contact Information:
Vermont Secretary of State, Office of Professional Regulation
Email: Aprille.morrison@sec.state.vt.us
Phone: 802-828-2373
Address:

89 Main Street, 3rd Floor
Montpelier, VT 05620

CPA License Requirements in Vermont

Education

Continuing education is required.

Work Experience

Work experience is required.

Other Qualification

Social Security Number is required.
Pass the AICPA Ethics Exam.

Getting your CPA license in Vermont can mean that additional requirements must be met. Since fees, requirements, and rules may change on a frequent basis, we highly recommend contacting the Vermont State Board of Accountancy for complete licensing information.


Links and Resources:

Learn about CPA Exam Requirements in other states: