Louisiana CPA Requirements
Are you looking to take the CPA Exam as an exam candidate for Louisiana? Each state or region in the United States has a different set of requirements in order to sit for the test. If you are considering Louisiana, you should first understand if you meet all of the necessary qualifications including education, residency, and age requirements. Below you will find the appropriate prerequisites, test center locations, exam fees, resources, and contact information to help you better understand all Louisiana CPA requirements. For example, did you know that you candidates need to have US citizenship & state residency in order to sit for the exam?
Please note that obtaining a CPA license in LA may require additional qualifications including continuing education or work experience.
The data on this page was last reviewed and updated in November 2017.
CPA Exam Requirements in Louisiana
- Bachelor’s degree is required.
- Need 150 hours for license, but do not need 150 hours to sit for exam)
- 24 semester hours in accounting required in undergrad level OR 21 semester hours in accounting in graduate level.
- See full education requirements on the Louisiana Board of Accountancy website.
Louisiana State Requirements & Education Options
Eligibility for Examination
You must be of good moral character and meet the following educational requirements:
- Have earned a baccalaureate degree from an academic institution recognized by the Board; and
- Have completed 24 semester (36 quarter) hours of business courses other than accounting, including at least 3 semester (4 quarter) hours in commercial law as it affects accountancy; and
- Have completed an accounting concentration to include 24 semester (36 quarter) hours above the introductory level OR 21 semester (31.5 quarter) hours at the graduate level, to include the following:
- 6 semester (8 quarter) hours in intermediate accounting
- 3 semester (4 quarter) hours in cost accounting
- 3 semester hours (4 quarter) hours in income tax accounting
- 3 semester (4 quarter) hours in auditing
- 3 semester (4 quarter) hours in either advanced financial accounting, not-for-profit accounting or accounting theory
- 6 semester (8 quarter) hours in additional accounting above the introductory level
Education must be complete at the time of application.
Note: In order to qualify for licensure, you must have completed a minimum of 150 semester (225 quarter) hours of postsecondary, graduate, or postgraduate education at an institution(s) recognized by the Board.
US citizenship is required.
Louisiana residency is required.
NO Age Minimum.
Visit prometric.com to find a CPA test center in Louisiana near you.
Free U.S. CPA Exam Qualification Services for International Candidates
Earn University Accounting Credits
Try the Wiley CPAexcel Course with FREE access to over 7,500 CPA Exam questions and much more.
Instant Access, No Credit Card Required
|Initial Application Fee:||$150.00|
*Registration fee for re-examination depends on the number of parts you are retaking.
CPA License Requirements in Louisiana
Continuing education is required.
Work experience is required.
Social Security Number is required.
Pass the AICPA Ethics Exam.
Getting your CPA license in Louisiana can mean that additional requirements must be met. Since fees, requirements, and rules may change on a frequent basis, we highly recommend contacting the Louisiana State Board of Accountancy for complete licensing information.