Kansas CPA Requirements

Are you looking to take the CPA Exam as an exam candidate for Kansas? Each state or region in the United States has a different set of requirements in order to sit for the test. If you are considering Kansas, you should first understand if you meet all of the necessary qualifications including education, residency, and age requirements. Below you will find the appropriate prerequisites, test center locations, exam fees, resources, and contact information to help you better understand all Kansas CPA requirements. For example, did you know that you must be a state resident in order to sit for the exam in Kansas?

Please note that obtaining a CPA license in KS may require additional qualifications including continuing education or work experience.

The data on this page was last reviewed and updated in November 2017.


CPA Exam Requirements in Kansas

Education

  • Baccalaureate’s degree is required.
  • 150 semester hours are required to sit for the exam, but applicants may sit up to 60 days before meeting the educational requirement.
  • Two-tier state. When a CPA passes the exam, a certificate will be issued. However, a license/permit to practice will be issued when the experience requirement is completed.
  • 1 of 3 educational options must be met. See full education requirements on the Kansas Board of Accountancy website.

View Other Kansas Education Requirements.

Kansas State Requirements & Education Options

Eligibility for Examination

To be eligible to take the Examination as a first-time candidate, you must:

Hold a baccalaureate or a baccalaureate and higher level degree from a college or university approved by the Board and 150 semester hours (225 quarter hours) with a concentration in accounting as outlined below:

  • At least 42 semester hours (63 quarter hours) in business and general education courses including the following:
    • A macroeconomics course, a microeconomics course, and one upper-division economics course
    • At least two courses in legal aspects of business or business law
    • College algebra or higher-level math course
    • Statistics and probability theory
    • Computer systems and applications
    • Finance
    • Management and administration
    • Marketing
    • Production, operations research, or applications of quantitative techniques to business problems
  • At least 11 semester hours (16.5 quarter hours) in written and oral communications
  • – At least 30 semester hours (45 quarter hours) in courses in accounting theory and practice, including the following:
    • Financial accounting and reporting for business organizations, which may include:
      • Intermediate accounting
      • Advanced accounting, or
      • Accounting theory
    • Managerial accounting beyond an introductory course
    • Auditing course concentration on auditing standards generally accepted in the U.S. as issued by the AICPA auditing standards board or the PCAOB or both
    • U.S. Income Taxation
    • Accounting systems beyond an introductory computer course
  • Not to exceed a total of six hours, up to three hours of course requirements in each of the three categories listed above may by waived by the Board, but only if the applicant has met the 150 hour education requirement and can provide satisfactory verification that he or she has otherwise met the course requirement. NOTE: a waiver is an exception, not a rule, so any request for a waiver will be considered on a very narrow basis and must be for good cause. 

Residency

US citizenship is not required.
Kansas residency is required.

Age

NO Age Minimum.

Find CPA Test Centers

Visit prometric.com to find a CPA test center in Kansas near you.


More Information
Free U.S. CPA Exam Qualification Services for International Candidates
Earn University Accounting Credits


accounting career guide


Try the Wiley CPAexcel Course with FREE access to over 7,500 CPA Exam questions and much more.

Start My Free Trial

Instant Access, No Credit Card Required

Exam Fees:
Initial Application Fee: $145.00
Audit: $208.40
Financial: $208.40
Regulation: $208.40
Business: $208.40
Total: $978.60

*Registration fee for re-examination depends on the number of parts you are retaking.

Contact Information:
Kansas Board of Accountancy
Email: info@ksboa.gov
Phone: 785-296-2162
Address:

Landon State Office Building
900 SW Jackson, Suite 556
Topeka, KS 66612

CPA License Requirements in Kansas

Education

Continuing education is required.

Work Experience

Work experience is required.

Other Qualification

Social Security Number is required.
Pass the AICPA Ethics Exam.

Getting your CPA license in Kansas can mean that additional requirements must be met. Since fees, requirements, and rules may change on a frequent basis, we highly recommend contacting the Kansas State Board of Accountancy for complete licensing information.


Links and Resources:

Learn about CPA Exam Requirements in other states: