Alaska CPA Requirements

Are you looking to take the CPA Exam as an exam candidate for Alaska? Each state or region in the United States has a different set of requirements in order to sit for the test. If you are considering Alaska, you should first understand if you meet all of the necessary qualifications including education, residency, and age requirements. Below you will find the appropriate prerequisites, test center locations, exam fees, resources, and contact information to help you better understand all Alaska CPA requirements.

Please note that obtaining a CPA license in AK may require additional qualifications including continuing education or work experience.

The data on this page was last reviewed and updated in January 2019.


CPA Exam Requirements in Alaska

Education

  • Bachelor’s degree is required.
  • 120 semester hours or within 18 semester hours of completing B.A.
  • However, must meet 1 of 4 semester hour requirements.

View Other Alaska Education Requirements.

Alaska State Requirements & Education Options

Eligibility for Examination

  • be of good moral character;
  • be at least 19 years of age; and
  • meet one of the following requirements:

    1. Degree and Accounting Concentration which includes:

    • a completed bachelor’s degree, or its equivalent, conferred by a regionally accredited college or university;
    • twenty-four semester hours in Accounting;
    • three semester hours in Business Law;
    • three semester hours in Economics; and
    • three semester hours in college level math, statistics and/or computer science

    2. Degree and Accounting which includes:

    • a completed bachelor’s degree, or its equivalent, conferred by a regionally accredited college or university; and
    • fifteen semester hours in Accounting.

    3. Degree In-Progress and Accounting which includes:

    • the applicant is within 18 semester hours of completing a bachelor’s degree, or its equivalent, from a regionally accredited college or university; and
    • completion of 15 semester hours in Accounting.

    4. Degree and Qualifying Experience which includes:

    • a completed bachelor’s degree, or its equivalent, conferred by a regionally accredited college or university; and completion of one year of public accounting experience under the direct supervision of a Certified Public Accountant (CPA).

Residency

US citizenship is not required.
Alaska residency is not required.

Age

Minimum age:
19 Years Old

Find CPA Test Centers

Visit prometric.com to find a CPA test center in Alaska near you.


More Information
Free U.S. CPA Exam Qualification Services for International Candidates
Earn University Accounting Credits


accounting career guide


Try the Wiley CPAexcel Course with FREE access to over 7,500 CPA Exam questions and much more.

Start My Free Trial

Instant Access, No Credit Card Required

Exam Fees:
Initial Application Fee: $175.00
Audit: $208.40
Financial: $208.40
Regulation: $208.40
Business: $208.40
Total: $1,008.60

*Registration fee for re-examination depends on the number of parts you are retaking.

Contact Information:
Alaska State Board of Public Accountancy
Email: cori.hondolero@alaska.gov
Phone: 907-269-4712
Address:

Dept. of Commerce, Community and Economic Development
Division of Corporations, Business & Professional Licensing
550 West 7th Avenue, Suite 1500
Anchorage, AK 99501-3567

CPA License Requirements in Alaska

Education

Continuing education is required.

Work Experience

Work experience required.

Other Qualification

Social Security Number required.
Pass the AICPA Ethics Exam.

Getting your CPA license in Alaska can mean that additional requirements must be met.  Since fees, requirements, and rules may change on a frequent basis, we highly recommend contacting the Alaska State Board of Accountancy for complete licensing information.


Links and Resources:

Learn about CPA Exam Requirements in other states: