What Is CIA Certification?

The Certified Internal Auditor®, or CIA®, designation is a professional credential bestowed by the Institute of Internal Auditors (IIA). For more than 40 years, it has been recognized globally as the “gold standard” by which professionals demonstrate their comprehensive competence and professionalism in the internal auditing field.

Advantages of CIA Certification

There are many advantages to becoming a Certified Internal Auditor® (CIA®) but, above all, earning your CIA certification will open up a variety of opportunities for you within the internal auditing field.

Earning your CIA certification will:

Improve your internal auditing skills and knowledge.
Earn greater credibility and respect in your field.
Increase your earning potential by as much as 43%.
Demonstrate your commitment to your profession.

The CIA designation is a valuable professional addition for auditors in any stage of their careers—including chief audit executives, audit managers, audit staff, and risk management staff—as well as students enrolled in an accounting or other business or financial degree program.

The CIA Exam

To earn CIA certification, you must complete the three-part CIA exam, meet the IIA’s eligibility and education requirements and pay all applicable CIA program and exam fees.

The three exam parts are:

Part 1: Internal Audit Basics
Part 2: Internal Audit Practice
Part 3: Internal Audit Knowledge Elements

Similar to other accounting designations such as the CPA and CMA, the CIA exam is 100% computerized. Candidates must take the exam in one of the 500+ Pearson VUE centers around the world. Learn more about CIA exam dates and registration.

The CIA exam is offered in 16 languages, including: Arabic, Chinese (traditional), English, French, German, Hebrew, Indonesian, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Polish, Portuguese, Russian, Spanish, Turkish, and Thai.