How to Become a CFA® Charterholder

  1. Enroll in the CFA Program and register for an exam. To enroll, you must meet eligibility requirements, which includes having four years of education and work experience, a valid passport, and living in a participating country.
  2. Pass the Level I exam, which is offered in June or December
  3. Pass the Level II exam, which is only offered only in June
  4. Pass the Level III exam, which offered only in June
  5. Have four years of professional work experience in the investment decision-making process

This work experience can be accrued before, during, or after participation in the CFA Program.

The CFA Institute states that on average, the process of becoming chartered through the program takes four years.

How Do I Join a Local CFA Society?

Over the course of becoming chartered, it is a requirement for candidates to become members of their local CFA Society® for the purposes of training, networking and collaborating. There are currently societies in 135 countries throughout the world.

According to the CFA Institute, these are the steps to becoming a Member of a local CFA Society:

  • Hold a bachelor’s degree from an accredited institution or have equivalent education or work experience
  • Pass Level I of the CFA Program exam or pass the self-administered Standards of Practice Examination
  • Have 48 months of acceptable professional work experience in investment decision making
  • Provide professional reference statements
  • Apply for membership in a CFA Society. Society membership is voluntary and highly recommended.
  • Agree to adhere to and sign the Member’s Agreement and the Professional Conduct Statement
  • Pay annual dues
  • Adhere to the OFAC Compliance Policy. Residents of certain countries may be prohibited by law from becoming a CFA Institute or Society Member.

Ready to begin your journey to becoming a CFA charterholder? Test drive Wiley’s CFA Program Exam Review, trusted by students in over 100 countries for free today.