Today, the MTA includes more than 4,500 members in over 85 countries throughout the world and is the preeminent organization for educating (and credentialing) financial market technicians.

To earn your CMT designation, you must meet the following requirements:

  1. Complete of all three levels of the CMT Exam.
  2. Become an CMT Member ($325 annual dues)
  3. Work in a professional analytical or investment management capacity for a minimum of three years; you must be regularly engaged in this capacity at the time of passing the CMT Exam.

When you register for the CMT Exam, be sure to pick up the official program curriculum and study materials. Click here to purchase your study materials.

Taking The CMT Exam

The CMT Exam is comprised of three levels that lay the foundation for integrating technical analysis tools into your current practice. Learn more about the CMT Program.

The exams for all three levels are administered twice a year in April and October. As candidates can only take one exam per administration, it will take at least a full calendar year (April to April, for example) to successfully pass all three levels.

All levels of the CMT Exam are computer-based and are administered at Prometric testing centers around the world.

In order to register for the CMT Exam you must:

  1. Be a member of the CMT Association and enroll in the CMT program
  2. Be prepared to take the exams in English (this may require significant preparation, especially when dealing with the essay on Level III)
  3. Have a valid international passport or other form of approved ID (verify in advance with the CMT Association)

Exam Format

Level I100% Multiple Choice2 Hours, 15 Minutes
Level II100% Multiple Choice4 Hours, 15 Minutes
Level III100% Essay/Short Answer4 Hours, 15 Minutes