To pass the CMT exam and become a Chartered Market Technician requires mastering the CMT Association’s core body of knowledge of technical analysis of investment risk in portfolio management, including quantitative approaches to market research and rules-based trading.

CMT Program covers four primary knowledge domains:

  1. Quantitative Financial Research & Trading
  2. Risk Management
  3. Applied Behavioral Finance
  4. Portfolio Management

Wiley CMT® Exam Review has aggregated the Learning Objectives for each level of the CMT Program, as published by the CMT Association.

CMT Level I – Introduction to Theory & Analysis

Level I of the CMT exam focuses on the basic knowledge of the terminology and analytical tools used in technical analysis for investment risk in portfolio management.

CMT Level II – Theory & Analysis

CMT Level II measures your competency in the application of concepts, theory, and techniques covered by the CMT Association’s required readings on market technical analysis.

CMT Level III – An Integration of Technical Analysis

CMT Level III tests your ability to integrate your understanding of the technical analysis concepts covered in Level I with the practical application learned in Level II of the curriculum.