Thinking of CIMA Certification: Program Overview

The CIMA certification program covers six core topics, which are heavily test in the qualifying and certifying examinations. The CIMA program is designed to fully prepare you to pass the CIMA certification exam.

Program Structure

The CIMA program often is highly condensed, presenting graduate school semester’s worth of material in a few days (or longer if online). In order to participate, you must pass the CIMA qualification exam, administered by IMCA. Whether in person or online, you’ll learn to apply, process, and retain key CIMA financial advisory concepts. Here is a brief overview of the CIMA program and the areas it covers.

CIMA Program Topics:

  1. Governance
    • IMCA Code of Professional Responsibility and Standards of Practice
    • Regulatory Considerations
  2. Fundamentals
    • Statistics and Methods
    • Applied Finance and Economics
    • Global Capital Markets History and Valuation
  3. Portfolio Performance and Risk Measurements
    • Attributes of Risk
    • Risk Measurements
    • Performance Measurement and Attribution
  4. Traditional and Alternative Investments
    • Traditional Global Investments (Equity and Fixed Income)
    • Fixed-Income Vehicles
    • Foreign Exchange Market
    • Alternative Investment
    • Options, Futures, and Other Derivatives
    • Tools and Strategies Based on Technical Analysis
  5. Portfolio Theory and Behavioral Finance
    • Portfolio Theories and Models
    • Behavioral Finance Theory
  6. Investment Consulting Process
    • Client Discovery
    • Investment Policy Statement (IPS)
    • Portfolio Risk Management Strategies
    • Manager Search, Selection, and Monitoring
    • Perform Portfolio Review and Revisions Process

These program specifics may vary in wording and order slightly, depending on the educational provider you choose.