Bryce, from

Guest Blogger, Bryce, from, explains the CPA Exam sections, test windows and score release dates.

The CPA exam is comprised of four separate exams that you must pass within an 18 month window. Click on any of the sections below to find out more details about what that test is comprised of.

Uniform CPA exam sections:

  1. Audit and Attestation (AUD) – 4 hours
  2. Financial Accounting and Reporting (FAR) – 4 hours
  3. Regulation (REG) – 3 hours
  4. Business Environment and Concepts (BEC) – 3 hours
*To pass each exam you must score at least a 75% on each of them

Test Windows

The CPA Exam is offered during the first two months of each calendar quarter. These are referred to as “testing windows”. You cannot take an exam during the last month of each quarter and these are known as “dead months”.

January & February: Testing Window
March: Dead Month
April & May: Testing Window
June: Dead Month
July & August: Testing Window
September: Dead Month
October & November: Testing Window
December: Dead Month

Candidates are allowed to take all four sections of the exam during any testing window and in any order they choose. However, you may not take the same section more than once during any single testing window.

I don’t recommend that you try and take all four section within one testing window as this can cause a major imbalance in your life and be quite overwhelming. However, if you are not working I think taking two or three sections per testing window is achievable if you plan it out well and stick to your study plan.

2013 CPA Exam Score Release Dates

2013 CPA Exam Score Release Dates


To read more from Bryce about how to study and pass the CPA exam please check out his Web site at or you can say hi to him on his Facebook page